Skip to main content
Institutional Review Board - Index - College of Saint Elizabeth

Main Menu
Additional Menu
Contact Information
Institutional Review Board

Michele Yurecko, Ph.D.
Santa Rita Hall 406

Phone: (973) 290-4036

Institutional Review Board - Index

The Institutional Review Board (IRB) was established to ensure that research conducted by faculty, students and staff promotes the College's commitment to honor the intrinsic worth of all individuals. Following federal guidelines, the IRB reviews proposals to assess the potential risks of participating in a research study and the degree to which individuals freely consent to participate. The IRB also considers researchers' safeguards to preserve participants' confidentiality.

The IRB meets monthly during the fall and spring semesters. Summer meetings are scheduled as needed. Faculty interested in having timely reviews of student proposals are invited to contact the Chair to make arrangements.

Meeting Schedule

Researchers must use the IRB Submission Form and appropriate Consent Forms and submit to

Student research proposals must include a memo or other acknowledgement that your advisor approved your proposal.

IRB Meeting Dates and Application Dates
  • January 18 proposals due January 9
  • February 15 proposals due February 1
  • March 22 proposals due March 8
  • April 19 proposals due April 5


How to Access the CITI Course

Visit for step-to-step instructions on how to register for the CITI course as a new researcher.

2016-17 IRB Members

The IRB consists of nine members: six elected full-time faculty, one ex-officio member, a community representative appointed by the IRB, and the Chair, who is a faculty member appointed for a term. Of the six full-time faculty members, five are elected to specific terms representing the following disciplines: Business, Education, Ethics, Biology/Nursing/Nutrition, and Psychology/Sociology. A sixth full-time faculty member is elected at large.

The terms of office and their respective disciplines of the six faculty members are detailed below.

Faculty Members

  • Dr. Maria Checton (Business, 2016-2019)
  • Sr. Alice Swartz (Ethics, 2014-2017)
  • Dr. Valerie Scott (Psychology, Sociology, 2014-2017)
  • Dr. Chloe Bland (General Member, 2015-2018)
  • Dr. Marie Boyle (Biology/Nursing/Nutrition, 2015-2018)
  • Dr. Thomas McDade (Education, 2016-2019)


  • Susan Lasker, M.D. Director of Heath Services, ex-officio

Community Member

  • Dr. Lisa Menza, community representative


  • Michele Yurecko, 2017-2018
Who We Are

Founded in 1899 by the Sisters of Charity of Saint Elizabeth, the College of Saint Elizabeth has a strong tradition of concern for the poor, for developing leadership in a spirit of service and social responsibility, and a commitment to the promotion of women as full partners in society.

Learn More About CSE
Take a Virtual Tour
Visit SOC Website

College of Saint Elizabeth
2 Convent Road
Morristown, NJ 07960-6989

© 2017 College of Saint Elizabeth